Dream Until Your Dreams Come True

“Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.” -Joshua J. Marine

Oh what a journey we have been on. I never would have thought I would look back and see my dream unraveling right before my eyes. It’s been a whirlwind and I can honestly say as a team, a company, we are stronger than ever. We hit so many bumps in the road…for a while I asked myself if I truly wanted to keep working on this. It always came down to the women we are working with. How could I give up on them? They are depending on us, on me. I wasn’t taught to give up, and we won’t.

As we wrapped up our first collection, we saw ourselves in a nightmare. Except we were living it. Many pieces from our first collection had to be completely scratched and redone. None of this was our seamstresses fault; it was our own. Luckily, through the help of so many others in our local fashion industry, we have found help and have found professionals we can outsource so that we won’t make the same mistakes moving forward. These changes have been HUGE for us.

Our mission is really a two step mission. Not only do we want to change the lives of women living in extreme need in the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere, but we have to create a damn good product(s) so that you as our customer love it so much you want to keep purchasing. This is what will ultimately allow us to continue to change these womens’ lives.

With that being said, here are some major developments happening with us….

-We completely scratched and redesigned our entire Fall/Winter collection.
-We debuted in Nashville Fashion Week
-It was freaking ahMAZING.
-We scratched and had to remake some of our Spring/Summer Collection to send out. Phew!
-We will be launching our new line of sustainable scrubs, WeAreDAR Scrubs, at the end of the month. So all of you scrub wearing folks, get ready! I promise not to disappoint.
-Our new collection will go for sale on our Shopify account by end of next week! Check out our pictures below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Someone please pinch me and remind me to keep going when the going gets tough….please. I can’t entertain those self-defeating thoughts. Writing all of this down makes me realize we’ve come too far to turn back now. Just because we have met a crap-load of roadblocks does not mean that it’s time to turn back, sit down or give up. Perseverance now is more important than ever. Our strength is definitely being tested, but we are pressing forward, past fear and doubt.

Things to remember:
– This is the right thing to do. I will not choose fear.
-I can do this. Normal people like us change the world, every single day.
-I’ve overcome bigger tasks than this before. (I might be lying on this one…)
-Worst case scenario is that I get stuck, but at least I tried.
-Our team is strong, smart and creative. We are capable, and we can do this.
-I have one life and will regret not taking this risk.
-It’s ok to dream BIG and make my journey count.
-Don’t give in. Don’t stop moving forward.
-Don’t you dare stop.

xo,

m.

Leave a Reply

