Being Faithful and Thankful

“True happiness means forging a strong spirit that is undefeated, no matter how trying our circumstances.” -Daisaku Ikeda

Everyone has a story, a beautiful, interesting story.  I’m the weirdo who tries hard to make eye contact with complete strangers in hopes of sending them the secret message of, “you are loved.” A simple reminder that we each have beauty and can connect with others in unique ways. It’s the passing glance of a stranger, and the earnest offering of a reciprocated smile that makes me genuinely smile ear to ear. Today after all the stress of the past two weeks I remembered gratitude in simplicity changes everything.

Let’s face it, whether big or small, stressful or simple, we all face challenges every day, some easier to deal with than others. Unfortunately, we aren’t given an instruction manual to handle these challenges. I naturally hide any fears, or insecurities in front of others, in fear of showing any vulnerability.  Not sure why I am like that.  Especially when I know, no matter how much I try to plan in advance, calculate our every move, or predict what the future will bring, it’s impossible to prepare enough for the unexpected.

I know I’m all over the place, and sound a bit cray cray, but I’m getting somewhere here. I’ve been stressing out quite a bit about our funding, and all the costs associated with starting a project like ours.  Crista (our product development consultant) met with me last week and gave me the news that we hit some more bumps on the road with aDARable.  See, Crista is a recent graduate of O’More. She doesn’t have all the experience needed to grade, cut, and do all the other things needed to get things in place to return to Haiti soon.  But what she does have is the heart and the passion to figure it out.  Taylor, our young, sassy business developer has that IT factor as well.  And that IT factor is all that is needed.  That IT factor means forging a strong spirit that is undefeated no matter how trying the circumstances. These ladies along with Tiffany, Annette, Jen, Jenny, Ashlyn, Jamie, Sarah, Kayla, all the students involved with aDARable, and all of you, are what makes me look back at this past year, and this holiday of Thanksgiving, and it makes me so thankful for all that I have. I am beyond blessed and thankful for all that I have been given, and I only hope I can give it back to all of you and those in need.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

xo,

m

Leave a Reply

